Subscription-Free OTA DVR--The Fourth-Generation Tablo

I have been subscribing to YouTube TV for several years now and I like it very much. The GUI and DVR are great, but it has become more expensive than I would like to pay. With taxes, it is now costing me $76/mo. And that is just for the base plan. I am paying for enhanced cable channels I don’t watch–specifically the ESPN channels. And I am paying for broadcast channels that I can get free with an antenna.

I discovered that I can get a package of channels from Sling TV (Sling Blue) that does not include ESPN, but does include the major news channels for $42/mo., which is what I want. (You can opt to get ESPN if you want.) That is a $34 monthly saving–more than what I pay for my cell phone bill. And even includes cable channels that I don’t currently get with YTTV. The only issue is that Sling does not include all of the local broadcast channels. However, I have a channel master antenna that can pick up a lot of local channels, so I just need an OTA DVR. By accident, I found out that Tablo has recently released its fourth-generation DVR. It has 50 hours of built-in storage which can be increased by an external USB hard drive. It also has a brand new app. Unfortunately, Tablo was bought by a broadcast station company, Scripps, which happens to own one of my local TV stations. I say unfortunately because they got rid of the automatic commercial-skip feature. Now why would they want to do that? Anyway, the DVR sells for $100, with a two-week program guide at no extra cost. And it uses your Wi-Fi network to stream channels to your TVs. There is also an ethernet jack. There were only 6 reviews on Amazon at the time I am writing this, but Best Buy has 88 reviews, with an overall 4.1 rating out of five. Not too shabby. It got a 4.5 for value.